Site icon BVI CHANNEL 1

Breaking: Akpabio Is The President of the 10th Senate

The clerk of the National Assembly has declared Senator Godswill Akpabio the Senate President for the 10th National Assembly (NASS) on Tuesday morning after voting concluded at the Red Chamber in Abuja, Nigeria.

Voting begun at exactly 08:45am on a state by state basis, alphabetically.

Nominations were received for Senator Abdul’aziz Yari and Senator Godswill Akpabio after which the Clerk of the Senate declared nominations closed in absence of further nominations.

The contest was strictly between Yari, a former governor of Zamfara State and Akpabio, a the immediate-past Minister of Niger Delta Affairs and a former governor of Akwa Ibom State.

Both contestants are chieftains of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The former Zamfara governor had before now protested the endorsement of the the former minister by the party and asked that the endorsement be reviewed but the APC did not shift ground.

Some APC members had entreated Yari to drop his ambition to make it a smooth sail for Akpabio but the former governor vowed to fight to the finish.

Exit mobile version