Site icon BVI CHANNEL 1

The 128 countries that didn’t back US over their Israel capital decision


Britain was among the nations who voted in favour
of the UN motion against the US recognising
Jerusalem as the capital of Israel
Trump threatened to cut aid to the countries
which defied him at UN

US Ambassador to the UN Nikki Haley said ahead of the
vote that the US would take note of countries that
“disrespected” it by voting against its decision to
recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel

Donald Trump ’s controversial decision to recognise
Jerusalem as the capital of Israel was dealt a blow when
the bulk of the United Nations General Assembly member
states backed its motion to brand his unilateral move as
“ null and void ”.

The resounding condemnation against the move by the
US president was delivered by 128 countries – almost
two-thirds of the 193 member states of the global
alliance. Only nine supported Mr Trump in his stance.
The UK, France and Germany were among the nations
who voted in favour of the motion. It is not legally
binding, but its near unanimous victory delivers an
embarrassing blow to Mr Trump.

Here are the countries that did so:

A: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola,
Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan

B: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium,
Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina
Faso, Burundi

C: Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Chad, Chile, China, Comoros,
Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus,

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea),
Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica

E: Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia

F: Finland, France

Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guine
a, Guyana

I: Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy

J: Japan, Jordan

K: Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan

Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Lu

M: Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta,
Mauritania, Mauritius, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco,

N: Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New
Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway

O: Oman

P: Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal

Q: Qatar

R: Republic of Korea (South Korea), Russia

S: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia,
Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia,
Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname,
Sweden, Switzerland, Syria

T: Tajikistan, Thailand, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey

U: United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic
of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan

V: Venezuela, Vietnam

Y: Yemen

Z: Zimbabwe

Member states that voted against the resolution:

G: Guatemala
H: Honduras
I: Israel
M: Marshall Islands, Micronesia
N: Nauru
P: Palau
T: Togo
U: United States

Member states that abstained:

A: Antigua-Barbuda, Argentina, Australia
B: Bahamas, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia-Herzegovina
C: Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic
D: Dominican Republic
E: Equatorial Guinea
F: Fiji
H: Haiti, Hungary
J: Jamaica
K: Kiribati
L: Latvia, Lesotho
M: Malawi, Mexico
P: Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland
R: Romania, Rwanda
S: Solomon Islands, South Sudan
T: Trinidad-Tobago, Tuvalu
U: Uganda
V: Vanuatu


Exit mobile version