By Valentine Mbadugha (ABS News) and Chukwunonso Ekesiobi (COOU)

The apex body of the economic profession in Nigeria – The Nigerian Economic Society (NES), has recently inaugurated the Anambra State Chapter of the Society. The event took place on the 30th of September at the Adam Smith Hall, Department of Economics, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State.

The inauguration which was also streamed virtually via zoom marked the formal takeoff of the society in the state, as part of the vision of the national body of the organization to provide intellectual leadership in the economic management in Nigeria.

The inauguration proper was carried out by the NES National President, Professor Sarah Anyanwu ably represented by a member of the National Executive Council and current Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Professor Uche C. Nwogwugwu.

In his remark, Prof Nwogwugwu went down memory lane to brief the gathering that the Nigerian Economic Society (NES) was formed in 1957 by Nigerian scholars as a united platform for Nigerian Economists and allied Social Scientists to provide intellectual leadership in the process of understanding and managing economic, social and political change in Nigeria. He further highlighted some of the objectives of the association to includes; the study of the economic and social problems of Nigeria and for Members to express opinions thereon, To make Nigerian Economists relevant to the Nigerian economic, social and political process. To stimulate public interest in Economics and Social Studies, encourage the study and discussion of relevant problems with special reference to Nigeria, and provide a means of intercourse between persons interested in the fields of study.

He therefore enjoined members and all economists in the state to take advantage of this platform to contribute to the development of Anambra state.

The event also saw the inauguration of the interim executives that will pilot the affairs of the association in Anambra with Dr Ebele Nwokoye of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka as the Chairperson.

Other members of the interim state executive committee are:
Vice-Chairman – Dr. Chibueze Aniebo, Department of Economics, Madonna University, Okija,
Secretary – Chukwunonso Ekesiobi, Department of Economics, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Anambra State
Publicity Secretary – Dr. Ann Ngozi Ike, Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State,
Liaison Officer – Chibuzor Nwabue, Anambra State Internal Revenue Service, Awka.

In her acceptance speech, the Interim Chairperson of the Anambra State Chapter and Head of Economics Department NAU, Dr Ebele S. Nwokoye commended the current leadership of the NES National body for the commendable move to decentralise the structure of the organization, as according to her the idea would bring NES closer to its members scatter across the country and promote inclusion in the society.

She pointed out the key points in the terms of reference for the chapter which includes, expansion of the frontiers of NES activities in the state, setting up the Anambra State Secretariat
Circulation of the NES flagship publication i.e. The Nigerian Journal of Economic and Social Studies (NJESS) and other NES academic materials, mobilisation of members for the society’s activities at the state and national level, coordination of induction ceremonies for new graduates of Economics in the state for the National body.

Dr Ebele who happily accepted the responsibility bestowed on her and the members her excos, pledged to give her best towards the successful execution of this assignment.

In a vote of thanks, the interim secretary and Lecturer, Department of Economics, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Anambra State, Mr Chukwunonso Ekesiobi, appreciated the NES President Prof. Sarah Anayanwu, the National Executive of NES and the Council of Fellows and Past Presidents of NES for the laudable initiative and for selecting Anambra state as one of the take-off chapters in the country.

He thanked all the Professors and lecturers of Economics in all tertiary institutions in the state for their unwavering efforts in moulding policymakers and economic analysts for the country, emphasizing that NES membership is open to all graduates of Economics in body the public and private sector and encouraged those resident in Anambura to seize this opportunity to register as members and join hands to move the society forward in order to impact meaningfully in the state and the Nation.

For further information about the Nigerian Economic Society and its activities, Mr Ekesiobi advised people to visit the society’s official website at



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here