Anambra state government has established two new Ministries which are the Ministry of Homeland Affairs and the Ministry of Petroleum & Mineral Resources.

This was contained in a circular signed by the State Head of Service, Barr. Okwy Igwegbe, dated May 6, 2022.

The establishment of the two ministries, was in line with the efforts of the Governor Chukwuma Soludo- led administration in repositioning Anambra state.

The establishment of the ministries necessitated the abolition of the former Ministry of Tertiary Education in Anambra state, and the streamlining of the new ministries to have the following professional departments.

The Ministry of Education would now have within it’s structures the Technical and Vocational Department, Schools Department, Educational Services, Educational Development Centre and Higher Education Departments.

While on the other hand the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources would include Mineral Resources and Energy, Hydrometerology Department, and finally Scientific Innovations, Research & Development Department.

The Circular also contained the restructuring which moved the ICT Department in the former Ministry of Tertiary Education to the Anambra State Information and Communication Technology Agency (ANSICTA).

Furthermore, the Industry Department hitherto in the Office of the Deputy Governor has been returned to the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Again following the restructuring, some Ministries such as the Ministry of Works gained a new nomenclature and would now be known as the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure.

Others were the Ministry of Youth Entrepreneurship and Creative Economy, now the Ministry of Youth Development, Ministry of Economic Planning, Budget and Development Partners’ Coordination now simply the Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget.

Ministry of Social Welfare, Children and Women Affairs now the Ministry of Women and Social Welfare, Ministry of Trade and Commerce now the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Ministry of Public Utilities now Ministry of Power and Water Resources.

The Ministry of Basic Education and the Ministry of Tertiary Education, Science and Technology were collapsed into one, now the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Information and Public Enlightenment now the Ministry of Information.

The document also confirmed that the Ministry of Diaspora Affairs, Indigenous Art Works, Culture and Tourism would be known as the Ministry of Culture, Entertainment and Tourism. Finally the Ministry of Housing and Urban Renewal, now the Ministry of Housing.

The circular also directs the professional staff of the forgoing Ministries and Agencies to re-align and move to their new Ministries and commence duty.

The changes, restructuring, renaming and streamlining contained in the circular is to take full effect from May 6, 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here