In line with the agreement by the Southeast leaders and stakeholders in finding permanent solution to the State of insecurity in the Igbo Homesteads, the Governor of Anambra state, Chukwuma Soludo on Wednesday, April 6, 2022 set up a 15-man Truth, Justice and Peace Committee to seek a restorative justice approach for truth-telling or real facts.

In view that the current situation goes beyond a law enforcement problem, the Pan-Igbo Committee which is to be chaired by Prof Chidi Odinaku and Amb Lady Bianca Ojukwu as its Secretary, has been directed to identify the remote and immediate causes of the agitations, restiveness, violence, and armed struggle in the South East since 1999 and craft a comprehensive and credible roadmap to the restoration of the socio-economic and security stability in the southeast.

The Committee shall document victims/circumstances of death, brutality and incarceration. It shall Identify stakeholders and groups who have played critical roles in the agitations and conflicts, their roles, capabilities and demands and as well, address any other issue(s) that may be germane to unravelling the extent of the crisis and charting the roadmap for the future.

While the Committee is empowered to draw up the methodology to accomplish its assignment, they shall give recommendations for sustainable peace and security in Anambra state/Southeast, have a direct reporting line to the Governor or his designee, and will be provided with administrative support.

The Committee which shall be inaugurated on a date to be communicated to its members, was expected to complete the assignment within a period of 6 months from its inauguration, with its preliminary report due no later than 2 months after the sunset and the final report after 2 months of receiving feedback on the preliminary report from the government.

The members of the Committee are as follows:

1. Professor Chidi Odinkalu-Chairman

2. HE Amb. Bianca Ojukwu-Member / Secretary

3. Dr. Joe Nwaorgu

4. Dr. Udenta Udenta – Member

5. Dr. Uju Agomoh — Member

6. Rev. Fr (Msgnr) Jerome Madueke

7. Canon Dr. Okechukwu C. Obi-Okoye

8. Mr. Charles Oputa (Charly Boy)

9. Dr. John Otu

10. Mr. Ngozi Odumuko

11. Ms Onyeka Onwenu

12. Dr. Joe Abah

13. Mr. Chukwuma Okpalaezeukwu

14. Mr. Sam Egwuatu

15. Prof. Joseph Ikechukwu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here