The Lagos State government on Monday, November 27, crushed 1,500 apprehended commercial motorcycles popularly called Okada in a renewed onslaught against Okada operation in the 10 local governments and 15 local council development areas (LCDAS) in the state.

The commissioner for transportation, Oluwaseun Osiyemi, who disclosed this while supervising the crushing of the motorcycles at the Taskforce Yard, Alausa, Ikeja, said this is in line with the government’s commitment to the safety and security of lives and property. He said the exercise is an indication that the government is not rescinding its decision to apprehend, impound, and crush recalcitrant motorcycles plying all restricted areas.


He said: “The ban on Okada in specified areas is crucial for maintaining order, reducing risks associated with unauthorized motorcycle operation, and also improving security.”

The prohibited local government areas include; Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Mushin, Apapa, Ikeja, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere, and Eti-Osa.

The Local Council Development Areas under them which the ban also covered include; Ojodu, Onigbongbo, Lagos Island East, Yaba, and Coker Aguda. Others are; Itire-Ikate, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, Ikoyi-Obalende, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga, and Odi-Olowo.

The commissioner urged Okada operators to obey the ban order in the prohibited areas, adding that Okada is not a safe means of commercial transportation and does not fit into the transport policy of the state.

Also present at the crushing exercise are the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Transportation, Olawale Musa, and other officials of the ministry.

Source : Nation Newspaper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here