The Bishop of on the Niger Diocese, (Anglican Communion) Dr. Owen Chiedozie Nwokolo, has approved the appointment of principal officers for the newly established university on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra State.

A statement by one of the aides to the bishop, Ndubuisi Emedozi, obtained in Onitsha on Sunday, said Prof. Chinedu Nebo, has been appointed pioneer Vice Chancellor of the university, while Lady Odisa Chinyelu Okeke, was named the Registrar of the institution.

Before his current appointment, Nebo, a professor of engineering, and former Vice Chancellor of two federal universities in Nigeria – University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) and Federal University, Oye Ekiti (FUOYE), Archdeacon of the Anglican Church also served as Provost, Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion).

Earlier today during the Trinity Ordination of Priests, Bishop Owen Chiedozie Nwokolo announced the appointment of Very Rev. Prof. Chinedu Nebo, CON as the Pioneer Vice Chancellor, University on the Niger, Diocese on the Niger, Anglican Communion. Recall, the University was recently licenced by the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Prof. Ositadimma Chinedu Nebo is a Provost Emeritus in the Anglican Communion, a professor of Engineering and equally the former Vice Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, who was succeeded by Prof. Bath Okolo. He was appointed Minister of Power by the Nigerian former President Goodluck Jonathan on February 4, 2013.

Equally, the Diocesan, Bishop Owen Chiedozie Nwokolo named Lady Odisa Chinyelu Okeke as the Pioneer Registrar of the newly licensed University on the Niger, Umunya. Lady Okeke was the 2nd Substantive Registrar of Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State(AE-FUNAI).

Until her recent appointment, she was on Sabbatical Leave at the Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University (KOMU) Ideato, Imo State.

The Institution is billed to admit students in the 2023 /2024 Academic Session, and it is expected to take off with four faculties and 17 departments under them.

The faculties include:

(1) Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

(2) Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

(3) Faculty of Science and Computing and

(4) Faculty of Management and Social Sciences

The degree programs/departments are:

* Medicine
* Dentistry
* Medical Laboratory Sciences
* Public Health
* Physiotherapy
* Radiography and Radiation Sciences
* Nursing Sciences
* Dental Therapy
* Health Information Management
* Microbiology
* Forensic Science
* Computer Science
* Cyber Security
* Software Engineering
* Economic and Development Studies
* Accountancy and
* Psychology.

Also, worthy of note is the recent upgrade and approval of the Iyienu Mission Hospital as the University on the Niger Teaching Hospital, Iyienu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here