ASUU ,Nnamdi Azikiwe University Branch  has elected new Executive Officers to provide leadership for University Academic Staff  in the next four years. The election was keenly contested with electoral umpire providing an atmosphere of trust and credibility. ASUU ,UNIZIK has proven that a free ,fair and credible election is possible. At the end of the election ,those who won celebrated with those who lost and nobody was asked to go to court.

Comrade Kingsley Ubaorji of the Department of Biochemistry was elected the new Chairperson of ASUU NAU Branch.

Comrade Prof. Ubaorji polled a total of 616 votes beating Comrade Dr. Okenwa CY Ogbodo who polled a total of 227 votes, Comrade Dr. Uju Ezenekwe with 141 votes and Comrade Dr. Peter Okoye with 81 votes.

In other results, Comrade Dr. Harrison Etaga polled a total of 570 votes to defeat Comrade Dr. Darlington Onyejike who polled a total of 488 votes for the post of Vice-Chairman.

For the position of Secretary, Comrade Dr. Joseph Senator Onyejiaka emerged unopposed; Assistant General Secretary position went to Comrade Dr. Osita Nnajiofor unopposed while Comrade Dr. Theophilus Okegbe, Comrade Dr. Amaka Metu ATM, Comrade Dr. Innocent Nnubia and Comrade Dr. Gideon Ezu emerged unopposed for the positions of Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Internal Auditor and Investment Secretary respectively.

The Welfare Officer position was annexed by Comrade Engr. Dr. Chinenye Okey-Onyesolu who polled a total of 566 votes to defeat Comrade Dr. Tonia Chigbo Obasi who polled 458 votes.

Maureen Okafor reports for BVI Channel 1 Online


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here